FCT NAWOJ Gets New Chairperson

By Ogonnaya Regina Umeham & Cynthia Talatu Batuta , ABUJA

A new Chairperson to steer the affairs of the Nigeria Association of Women Journalists (NAWOJ), FCT has emerged.
She is Mrs Bassey Ita Ikpang. She works with the Nigeria Television Authority (NTA) as a Manager News/ Current Affairs. She was former Chairman NTA Chapel and has also been Vice Chairperson NAWOJ Akwa Ibom.

Mrs Bassey Ikpang emerged as the Chairperson, when the incumbent Chairperson, Comrade Anne Daniel pulled out of the race, via a letter made available to the members.

Mrs Rebecca Bolanle Ukpevo of Federal Information, Abuja also emerged as the Vice Chairperson of the association as she polled 125 votes to beat her opponent Francisca Ogar who got 115 votes.

Other positions contested for but the contestants emerged unopposed includes; Nkiruka Nnoli, Secretary, Chinaza Udeze, Treasurer, Laraba Murey, Assistant Secretary, Remi Johnson, Financial Secretary, and Mnena lorkegh, Internal Auditor.

Addressing members of the association during her swearing in ceremony at Nigeria Union of Journalists NUJ Abuja Council, Utako venue of the election, Mrs Ikpang expressed her heartfelt gratitude to them for placing their trust and confidence in her to lead and move the association forward to grater height.

“I would like to extend my appreciation to my fellow candidate, who is our immediate past Chairperson, Anna Daniel, and the past executives for their contributions which have laid a solid foundation upon which we would build and grow.” the FCT NAWOJ Boss said.

She assured members that she would work tirelessly to uphold the values and principles of NAWOJ adding that she is aware of the responsibilities that come with the position of Chairperson.

Together, she continued” we would strive to Learn, Evolve, Advocate and Develop ourselves so as to promote gender equality, empower women in journalism, and advocate for press freedom,” she said.

She however pledged to be accessible to all members, transparent, and inclusive in her leadership.

” Your input and feedback would be invaluable as we navigate the challenges and opportunities ahead.” She noted.

In conclusion she said ” our strength lies in our unity and collective effort. So, this is asking friends, opponents, rivals, aggrieved or discouraged to let by gone be by gone for together, we can overcome any obstacle and achieve our shared vision for a more inclusive and equitable NAWOJ FCT.

Let us embark on this journey together, united in our commitment to advancing the cause of women journalists in the FCT and beyond”.

Earlier in her congratulatory speech, the Vice President Zone D NAWOJ, Mrs Chizoba Ogbeche tasked the new leadership of NAWOJ to Note that FCT NAWOJ is hosting the National Secretariat and so must set the pace for Other Chapters in the Zone and the Country.

Chairman NUJ Abuja Council, Comrade Patrick Osadebamwen congratulated the New Executive and told them his door was open 247 to seek counsel and he went on to wish them an eventful tenure.

In a related development the FCT NAWOJ Executives paid a thank You Visit to the FCT NUJ Council

The newly elected executives of NAWOJ FCT today paid a courtesy visit to the leadership of the FCT NUJ Council ably led by the Chairman, Mr Patrick Osadebamwen, Secretary of Council, Ochiaka Ugwu, Financial Secretary Gloria Essien among others.

It was a heartfelt thank you visit to express our deepest gratitude for the leadership’s invaluable support during the recently concluded elections.

Amidst the excitement of our newly elected positions, leading the delegation was Chairperson Bassey Ita Ikpang, who took the time to recognize and appreciate the Chairman’s unwavering commitment to ensuring a peaceful and fair electoral process, as well as our readiness to work with the FCT NUJ Council going forward.

The visit was a beautiful opportunity to extend our gratitude and strengthen the bond between NAWOJ FCT and the NUJ FCT Council. We are immensely grateful for the warm welcome and hospitality extended to us during our time together.

Previous Post
Next Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *