Governor Kefas Sets Up Nine Man Committee

Emmanuel Awari-Jalingo

Governor of Taraba State, Dr. Agbu Kefas has constitute a Nine (9) Man Committee to Review the activities of the dissolved Boards, Commissions and Governing Councils in Taraba State; from 2019 to 2023.

In a statement signed by the Secretary to the State Government, Barrister Timothy Gibon Kataps gave the terms of the committee to include, Determine the performance of all the Boards/Commissions and the inflows/outflows of funds of the Board/Commissions, The performance of the Boards/Commissions in terms of service delivery as it affects such Boards/Commissions in the interest of the state, The performance of the Boards/Commissions and its performance indexes, negative or positive as it affects the various zones and components of the state and To suggest to the government how best to reorganize such Boards/Commissions in order to function optimally and achieve its set objectives in the best interest of the state. Others are To determine if necessary to improve or retain the remuneration of members of Boards/Commissions to achieve maximum performance, Suggest the cost of it funding if any, and other advise to improve these Boards/Commissions and to investigate/review performance of the consultants on payroll management of the state (StarterPoint) to determine whether or not its performance meets the required standard and to advice the government.

Members of the committee are, Mr. Polycarp Iranius Taraba State Auditor-General – Chairman, Dr. Gangum Ahmed Williams
Member, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Rural and Community Development, Mallam Adullahi M. Sanusi DPRS LGSC, Mrs. Fatima T. Yusuf Retired Director, Social Mobilization, Mr. Obadiah T. Ipeyen Auditor-General, LG
Member, Mr. Livinus Jesse Ayih Taraba State University – Member, Professor Nicholas Nyemise, Member, Mallam Kefas N. Saleh, Member and Mr. Genesis Kwantar Permanent Secretary, Establishment and Record

The statement said that the Committee has twenty-one (21) days to submit its report.
In a similar statement, the Secretary to the state government Barrister Timothy Gibon Kataps said that some Commissions which are creation of The 1999 Constitution (as amended) are not affected by the dissolution notice, they include, State Civil Service Commission, State Independent Electoral Commission, State Judicial Service Commission and State House of Assembly Service Commission.

The statement urge membership of the Boards and Commissions to submit their resume and other relevant documents to the office of the SSG in person for vetting and urge all concerned are to note.

Previous Post
Next Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *